How to Prepare Old Mac for Sale

First of all: you have to ensure any essential information has been moved to your new Mac (or PC, in case you’re swapping sides!).

The least demanding approach to exchange information from Mac to Mac is to use Migration Assistant, which will make its quality known when you set up your new Mac. To exchange information between the two Macs, you should have either a FireWire association or a system association. FireWire will be speedier.

On the off chance that you’ve used your old Mac to buy any substance from the App Store, iTunes Store et cetera, make certain to open iTunes on it and pick Deauthorise This Computer from the Store menu. That way you won’t lose one of your five authorisations when you wipe the old Mac’s drive.

Moving to another Mac?

Figure out how to move your files to your new Mac. Do this before you delete the hard drive or take after some other advances.

Make a backup

Make certain you have an up-to-date backup of your critical files and information. Figure out how to move down your information in macOS.

Sign out of iTunes

Open iTunes. From the menu bar at the highest point of your PC screen or at the highest point of the iTunes window, pick Account > Authorizations > Deauthorize This Computer.

Whenever provoked, enter your Apple ID and watchword. At that point click Deauthorize.

Take in more about deauthorizing your PC using iTunes, including how to deauthorize every one of the PCs you’ve used with your iTunes account.

Sign out of iCloud

Pick Apple menu > System Preferences, click iCloud, and afterward tap the Sign Out catch.

An exchange requests that whether you need keep a duplicate of your iCloud information on the Mac. Because you’ll reformat the hard drive in a later advance, simply click Keep a Copy to continue.

After you sign out of iCloud, your iCloud information stays in iCloud and on some other gadgets you’ve marked into with your Apple ID.

Sign out of iMessage

In case you’re using OS X Mountain Lion or later, sign out of iMessage.

In the Messages app, pick Messages > Preferences, at that point click Accounts. Select your iMessage account, at that point click Sign Out.

In case you’re keeping matched Bluetooth gadgets, unpair them (discretionary)

On the off chance that you have Bluetooth gadgets, for example, consoles, mice, or trackpads—matched with your Mac, and you intend to keep these gadgets, you can unpair them. This discretionary advance forestalls inadvertent contribution on the Mac if the PC and the Bluetooth gadgets have isolate proprietors yet stay inside Bluetooth scope of each other.

In case you’re unpairing an iMac, Mac smaller than usual, or Mac Pro, you should have a USB or other wired console and mouse to finish these means.

To unpair your Bluetooth gadgets, pick Apple menu > System Preferences, at that point click Bluetooth. Float the pointer over the gadget that you need to unpair, at that point tap the evacuate (x) catch beside the gadget’s name. At the point when the exchange inquires as to whether you’re certain, click Remove.

In case you’re using an iMac, Mac Pro, or Mac smaller than usual, use a USB or other wired console and mouse to finish the following stage.

Restart Your Mac and Boot Into Recovery Mode

Ensure your Mac is associated with the Internet, (you’ll require an Internet association with reinstall macOS, unless you have an introduce disk or USB drive), at that point restart it by tapping on the Apple in the upper-left hand corner of your Mac’s Desktop. Snap “Restart” in the Apple menu.

As your machine reboots, all the while hold down the Command + R keys. Hold these two keys down until the “Recuperation Mode” screen loads.

Erase Your Hard Drive

Presently, Select “Disk Utility,” and afterward tap on “Proceed.” Select your Mac’s Startup Disk in the sidebar on the left, and after that snap your mouse pointer on the “Eradicate” tab on the right-hand side of the window.

In the event that you are perplexed somebody may endeavor to recoup your information, tap on the “Security Options… ” catch and select a higher type of security for deleting your information. (Note: This WILL take significantly longer than a typical eradicate.) Click the “Delete… ” catch and the utility will start to eradicate your hard drive.

Cautioning: Before organizing, be VERY certain you either have a backup, or are certain that you don’t need anything that remaining parts on the hard drive. This will for all time eradicate your Mac’s hard drive.

At the point when the drive is eradicated, leave the utility by choosing “Disk Utility,” and after that “Quit Disk Utility.” (For more data about deleting your hard drive, visit the Apple Support site.)

For MacBook Pro with Touch Bar: Clear Touch Bar info

MacBook Pro with Touch Bar users should clear the machine’s Touch Bar information before giving their PC to another proprietor. The Touch Bar is home to the Touch ID sensor, which confirms your unique finger impression against information put away in your Mac’s protected enclave to perform high-hazard framework activities.

Apple suggests clearing the Touch Bar information before proceeding onward to the following stage. To figure out how that is done, our instructional exercise strolls you through the procedure.

Delete and Reinstall macOS

Maybe the most essential thing you can do before giving or offering your Mac is reformat the capacity disk and reinstall macOS on it. We have an astounding top to bottom instructional exercise disclosing how to do that, however you should just take this measure in the event that you’ve just played out the means above.

Master Tip: For included security, use the protected eradicate highlight in Disk Utility while wiping the capacity drive. The more disregards you make your past information, the more secure the delete will be, yet it will likewise take longer.

Once your Mac boots up to the setup screen, your Mac can be given to its new proprietor so they can set it up for themselves.

Post A Reply